top of page
Search
  • Dr. Chisato

Let’s chat about positives of autism

As a mama to twin boys who are both on the autism spectrum, I understand that just because the diagnosis is the same, it does not mean that people are the same!!

However, like any diagnosis, I hear soooo many misconceptions and misinformation about autism, so I wanted to write about the positives that I have seen!!


While individuals, with autism may encounter challenges they also possess attributes that make valuable contributions to society. Here are some remarkable qualities associated with autism;


1. Unwavering Focus and Attention to Detail;

Individuals with autism often exhibit an ability to concentrate on tasks or subjects of interest with precision. This makes them invaluable contributors in fields that require attention.

For my boys, I see this with science and math. They both teach me so much about things that I had no idea about! It's so amazing!


2. Creativity and Original Thinking;

individuals on the autism spectrum possess an inner world bursting with imagination and creative ideas. Their distinctive perspectives often lead to thoughts and solutions that might not have been considered otherwise.

My boys definitely show this to us- they are so creative and unique. Yuri is very artistic- and his art always takes my breath away. Akira is musical- the fact that he can play the piano without being taught is always amazing to me.


3. Loyalty and Honesty;

They tend to be candid and sincere in their interactions fostering meaningful connections with those around them.

I see this both my boys- when they say "I didn't do that" I believe them. . Because they will definitely tell you if they did!

Funny story- I will sometimes ask the boys, "hey boys- do you listen?" You know what they say? "Sometimes."


With these in mind, let's jump into this week's Therapist Mama Bear Tip!



9 views0 comments

Komentar


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page