top of page
Search
  • Dr. Chisato

Let's Chat About Nutrition and Mental Health

Today, I want to discuss a topic that often goes under the radar but plays a significant role in our overall well-being: the connection between nutrition and mental health. As a therapist, I’ve seen firsthand how diet impacts not just physical health but mental and emotional health too. Let's explore how what we eat can influence our mood, cognition, and overall mental well-being.
As a mama to twins who are both on the autism spectrum, this is also something I see. One of my boys loves vegetables, but dislikes meat. My other boy loves meat, but dislikes vegetables. So we had to work with them on expanding what they eat, because we knew that what they eat also impacts how they are feeling as a whole. Now, my vegetable loving boy (who also loves fruit) will also eat some dairy (yogurt, etc) and my meat loving boy will eat some fruits (he loves strawberries) and vegetables (he likes Brussels sprout and peas).
So how does nutrition impact mental health?

First, Certain foods can help stabilize our mood! For example, food like salmon and walnuts can help decrease certain mental health symptoms, such as depression and anxiety. I can say that I am a super picky eater (I'm moderately sure my boys are picky because of me... lol) so it's something I keep in mind! For example, I hate walnuts (and the boys are allergic) but I try to incorporate salmon into my diet. so knowing some of my options can be helpful!


Eating a balanced diet that includes complex carbohydrates, proteins, and healthy fats can help maintain steady energy levels throughout the day. Foods like whole grains, lean meats, beans, and vegetables provide sustained energy and prevent the blood sugar spikes and crashes that can lead to irritability and fatigue. Similar to anything, balance is super key! I am not going to sit here and say, don't eat sweets or things that are viewed as "unhealthy." That may not be realistic!( It won''t be for me, for sure!) It's about balance- incorporating multiple different types of food is helpful.


Also, certain nutrients are crucial for maintaining cognitive functioning. I'm not sure if there has ever been a time where you felt like your brain wasn't working as well as it usually does. I know when I have those moments, I notice that it may be because I haven't really been mindful of what I eat! So my brain is kind of working on fumes! To try to combat this, I try to incorporate fruits and veggies in my meals, every meal I eat.

With these in mind, let’s jump into this week’s Therapist Mama Bear tip!





1 view0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page