top of page
Search
  • Dr. Chisato

Let's chat about managing expectations

Do you struggle with managing your expectations? I know I do!
I have a tendency to be really hard on myself; I get frustrated when I feel like something is not my "best work" even if others say "it's great." It's gotten a little better as I have gotten older and worked on myself but the struggle is definitely there.

So... how can we manage our expectations?

Let's talk about how we can manage our expectations towards our selves for this time.

  1. When you notice that you are feeling guilty or frustrated towards yourself, take a step back. Take a breath.
  2. Ask yourself, "am I being realistic in my expectations? OR am I asking for perfection?"
  3. Ask yourself, "what would happen if it isn't perfect?" Most of the time, even if something is not perfect- it is OKAY. Many times, we are our worst critic!
  4. Ask yourself- "how would I react if this was my best friend (or someone else you care about)?"
  5. If you make a mistake- explore what you can learn from it. For me, many times, it's slowing down. I tend go fast and sometimes, that leads to careless mistakes. So taking my time on things (although it is SUPER HARD) is important and can be helpful in certain situations.
  6. Try finding what is going WELL.
  7. This may be silly- but try to find humor in it! I tend to laugh at myself all the time- it lightens my frustration towards myself :)

With this in mind, let's jump into this week's Therapist mama bear tip!


1 view0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page